“Confession of a Samurai”

Stay away from me
These feelings will be gone soon
But I need a friend to help me see
A smile of that lonely moon
It’s nothing that you have done
You’re not the only one
I just sought these lessons to learn
That my own failures seize me to know
The skies turned dim, it’s bounded to cry
And I’m still gazing on some bridges I’ve burnt
In the midst of the meadow, there I lay asleep
For the going will be tough and narrow
Since this is how my story goes
The only crime my heart knows
No! I lied. I feel that’s the only way
There would be nothing left for me to say
Will I ever learn to seek the sun?
If all else fails, would I still run?
Thought we’d be willing to mend
Passed by all our failures & a circumstance
A soldier within seems to fade and slowly die
Love is a traitor, your love beneath a lie
But I don’t want to give it up & do no revenge
Nevertheless, all the inconsistency are rowing towards me
Getting even is not what it takes
Going over it will somehow make it less than rightful
I’ll just let the past wither before
Have my soul and my only spirit suffer
I’m just learning the value to live a life
Yearning the lessons after each and every strife
To become someone I might have been
To remember the samurai my heart have seen
I hold my blade and stand before every storm
Be man enough to admit that I am wrong
To make the peace inside me hover & light me up
Bearing the guilt of death, a solemnity
How will I stand to fight the fears before me?
Sacrifice, the foolishness & a hope I’ll raise to thee
The prayer of a samurai I’ll chant and say
Better be gone, will just stay away

(a Poem written some 5 years back…) By: Albertini Lacson Sarmiento)

Leave a comment