My “Never Ending Asia” trip ( Denpasar Bali, Indonesia)

405331_2782749682108_1669833964_nIt was December of 2011. Everybody is busy wrapping up their gifts & ecstatic for their Christmas party tricks, while I am completely absorbed (and quite nervous) & hectic for some adventure plans on my Indonesian trip. I had all the good & the “bad” kind of excitement which is softly preoccupying my mind at that time. This was my first try to do some backpacking, to venture ALONE on some unknown place. To get lost and discover some amazing things. To meet and get along with strangers etc. In other words, I am all ready for all the hassle! =)

396876_2782730521629_1679232702_n

I lightly load my backpack with few light clothes, maps, toiletries & left some space for some souvenirs that I might have collected during that 14-day escape. The preparation was of a bad kind, impromptu and really on a last minute decision. But nevertheless, rebooking & buying my tickets (initially a flight bound to Manila, Philippines) was of hassle-free and seem not that much expensive when you come to think that it’s on a high seasonality. On behalf of my yearly ticket provided by the company I was working for, I only paid 90.00 Qatari riyals for the rerouting fee of my ticket from Doha-Manila to Doha-Denpasar Bali flight (which was equivalent to only $24.72). Not to mention the really cheap tickets of KLM airways (Bali-Singapore Flight) & Cebu Pacific Air (Singapore to Manila flight) which I thought would be so much expensive because of the on-going holiday rush. What an absolute way to start the vacation!

The german couple I've met on the flight. #sweet

The german couple I’ve met on the flight. #sweet

The Journey began…: 

395397_2782741241897_528339700_n 392262_2782751282148_1964531255_n 393906_2782708481078_470085957_n

The wind is blowing tender and chilling that night. The road going to the airport seems a little too fast for a 20-minute ride via Karwa (A local name for a bus & taxi transportation company in Doha). I arrived at DIA (Doha Int’l Airport) around 2230h and waited for Mona (A friend and an office colleague) because she was travelling that very same midnight too but all bound to Philippines (Manila). We had a little chitchat about how excited we are for our vacation and talked about our plans for our own separate holidays. I bid her my good-byes while she were entering her boarding gate & wished both of us a great time-off we hoped for. As I waited for my boarding gate to open, I noticed how many travelers (specifically Americans & Indonesians) are also going on that same destination as I am. Boarding at Gate-38!

Doha – Denpasar 383875_2782724361475_1036233145_nBali flight on Qatar airways took me almost 12hours not to add that it would still be transiting Changi Int’l Airport (Singapore) which is the flight’s hidden layover. But its all good, I mean this was my first experience that finds me really jet-setting and I don’t see any inconvenience on that. And besides, the crew, food & services of Qatar airways are something I can really rely on specifically during a long-hauled flight like this. Moreover, I met a wonderful couple who would also go and spend a month of Honeymooning for their anniversary. They also brought up stories on how they met each other, how they would spend each and every year saving and planning for a round of vacation. It was just simply nice for them to let me know of their sweet beginnings & everyday life.

400076_2789172682679_1775677917_n

My host’s place. #Bali

I arrived at the airport around 9-pm that midnight. It was a crazy tiring flight, a first-timer’s inevitable thing. The airport is too jam-packed with a lot of tourist going off on those long queues before the immigration booths. It is well deserved though that the airport is clean, well-organized and full of posters and banners that reminds people about safety policies & procedures and lots of flyers for tourism purposes. My first thoughts were to buy a sim card and call my host if ever they can pick me up at the arrival terminal. The rain adds a little inconvenience for me that night, people are all been busy picking and dropping, throwing their baggage to their transports. The fast-food shops beside the gate is not exempted because of the outpouring public orders, airport carts and bags everywhere!

390447_2789194843233_1875757535_n

Enjoying the early lunch treat from Piet and Mama Henny

374965_2783402338424_372707554_nI waited for like minutes and my host, Peter ~who came to my surprise and availed to wait & hail for me in the midst of the buzzing mob. I was really thankful to have him as my host. He accommodated and helped me discover & experience the Balinese hospitality and the rich culture of the Indonesian customs. He drove me with his car to their house near the city (about 15-20minutes). It was a great relief for me, knowing that you’re with someone trustworthy and a really polite person who will be with you for the next coming days of your couch-surfing activity. He welcomed me to their humble home, a big house full of antique furniture, of surfboards, of family picture frames and else. His room was comfy, with389435_2824293520678_1131559384_n a side-shelf full of books & drawings & computer algorithm notes, a large TV in front of his bed and underneath were a boxful of DVDs (maybe he ‘s into movies too) and also a connecting washroom readied with hot & cold shower. There we dragged ourselves for days to tell our stories and continued our exchange of thoughts~ about movies and books, our work, our lives, the misadventures and lessons, wonderful stories and almost everything that goes with it…… That helped us to sleep in no time.

Peter and His Family (with my highest regards to Mama Henny)402672_2824296320748_413393625_n

Peter and his family are very welcoming to me. He and his family provided so many things and a tremendous support & hospitality in my weeks of stay in Bali. They’re just wonderful & a very caring family. From day-to-day, they’ve tried serving me sumptuous & delicious food which has a big similarity with traditional Filipino cooking.

377130_2824300280847_449412269_n 379872_2789159082339_304630086_n They even allowed me to see some of their photos and for Peter to tell me stories of his brothers, his mom and a brief history of their family.  Most of all, I am delighted to know and talk to his dear Mother, Mama Henny. She reminds me of my “Nanay Ditse”. For me, they seem so very alike when it comes to how they dress up, mannerisms & the way they talk (sweet-spoken). Mama Henny is so pleased to see me in their home and often tells me that she was not ready for any visitors to come which made me a little bit shy, uneasy, and at the same time flattered. Looking at her eyes, I know that she is such a sweet lady, a great mother to Peter and his brothers, to the whole of their family. Looking at her eyes, I see that she is really adoring and so loved by many people. So to speak, I really miss Mama Henny, how I wish she can still remember me…. Peter’s family is really cool. I also found out that his brother is a famous surfer, not only in Indonesia but in the whole SE region. His brother is also deemed as the No. 1 Indonesian surfer in the world. Cool Stuff huh~! Despite of their family status and the achievements, Peter and his family are having a silent, low-key lifestyle. They remain so generous and down-to-earth people. I am simply fortunate to know a friend like Peter and an awesome family like them.

Sop Buntut ( Ox-tail soup ) =

Sop Buntut ( Ox-tail soup ) =) cooked by my host!

384112_2789200043363_1388700245_n

Gedebong prepared by my host, Piet of Bali.

390845_2789182282919_835858428_nThose were the days of my wonderful stay inside their lovely home; Peter also introduced me to their house helper, Ms. Nur. One of those morning, they taught me how to prepare a dish, NASI GORENG (a yummy local mixed rice), which was so easy to make, I’m just so proud to make some on my own. I have also tried eating local food like  Sop Buntut ( a beef/ox tail soup dish, a version of a Filipino Bulalo) served with a Nasi Kuning ( cone-shaped yellow rice cooked inside a banana leaf ), Pisang Goreng ( Filipino Banana Queue ), Gado-Gado,  my favorite Satay ( BBQ, Grilled marinated meat in peanut sauce, which Peter and I bought along our coasting in Kuta Beach area) Bakso, Rendang specialties, Es Cendol ( a local street chiller, a version of Filipino Sago’t Gulaman) which is delicious and sweet Also on my favorite list~ Babi Guling ( suckling pig) which I’ve been looking forward to try for our lunch during our visit to the Monkey Forest in Ubud area. Such a clever dish!

404650_2790231349145_539875949_n

half-bodied Garuda

385531_2783359537354_2058538956_n

Satay (or an Indonesian BBQ that can be complimented by a peanut sauce. Sweet and a little spicy) vendor along Kuta Beach

Me and Pete also paid a time to visit the coastlines of Jimbaran beach & indulged ourselves on seafood dining which is so famous in the region for its wide range of seafood dishes & also known by tourists for giving a romantic ambiance specifically for couples that are honeymooning & for our folks having just a good time eating & some sights of that majestic sunset. Well, gastronomic trip was one of the highlights of your adventure, trying out something what your taste buds haven’t tried  before and it was so amazing that I have those memories in me, trying those luscious foods that my taste buds are so grateful for…

Peanut Vendor along Kuta Beach.

Peanut Vendor along Kuta Beach.

El Cendol!!! Trated my Host, Mr.

El Cendol!!! Trated my Host, Mr. Piet

383647_2790248549575_1660594225_n

Dinner @ Jimbaran Beach together with my host. Grilled sting-ray, prawns and rice. Plus a round of sweet, fresh Buko (Coconut) Juice.

401654_2790044824482_1920175392_n

a Traditional Dance Presentation @ GWK

395445_2790041184391_1764933882_n

a sea of audience enjoying the day’s presentation. =))

Kickin’ off: New Year’s Eve Party

386177_2780702750936_723405888_n

Surfing Community! =)) Great company.

378762_2782809123594_853334015_nPeter is so generous to give a ride for patching a time with the CS society. We spent around an hour & a half that morning going to a local mall and meet the community and take a part of their celebration welcoming the year 2012 with a loud bang. I really can’t remember the road we’ve hit going to the location but the ride seem eased up. Sadly, Peter had to go somewhere else to see his father and do some business then. We bid good-byes and wishing both a New, happy year.

The DJ and his house music made us groove. The night is young and it was an amazing experience to have it with them,.

The DJ and his house music made us groove. The night is young and it was an amazing experience to have it with them,.

391150_2780705391002_1363792659_n

Meeting the group really enthused me. And since this is my first true CS activity (other than Doha), I am simply excited and overpowered~ of course with joy and anticipation to greet the New Year and spend the wee hours of that midnight with the wonderful CS Bali Community. Ive met a great CS people including their ambassador~ Reni, and the whole group starting with  Samir Rath, Philip, Nicole & Julian, Salvatore, Lerry, Ded, Andy, Indri, Joannes, Matthew a.k.a Mr. Rapping Professor, Daniel Doma, Hasan Hasny, Purwanti, Niclas Odell, Hendra and everybody who’s all game to party. Taking the long road going to Puri Uluwatu Villas which is located in Jalan Pantai Suluban is tiring, yet the location seemed so splendid, relaxing and really private.  The place is serene, classy and expensive as well ( and Thank you Mr. Rath for providing the villa)!  The resort boasted an outstanding view of the beach, a mix of contemporary & traditional Balinese design & architecture, a welcoming balcony that one can’t overlook the greenish plains , a spectacular pool overlooking the scenery, big rooms, cozy atmosphere and ranging staircases that follows a great pull-out of the Villa. To  be completely honest, I really dont have an easy time sinking in. =)) enjoying the night. Me, Nicole, Julian, Indri and Philip. Plus the other surfers who’ve come to this New Year’s party. Missed the peeps of Bali. Hopefully to come back and celebrate another year of excitement, blessing and adventure.

389407_2782848884588_1456486888_n but it turned out to be great and fun. We exchanged stories, all our personal adventures on places we’ve visited and of course our outlook and each of our personal view about Bali, Indonesia.

the Great Villa! Thanks for a great house NYE party! #CSBALI

the Great Villa! Thanks for a great house NYE party! #CSBALI

385827_2780699670859_1829122266_n

Fireworks display near the Puri Ulawutu villa. Simply majestic. Woot!

A brief night @ Rappin’ Proffessor’s Home

khjh

a great hut from Mr. Matthew the Rappin’ Professor

After a great party @ Puri Ulawutu, we bid our goodbyes to each and everyone who participated and parted by that very minute too. Mr. Matthew a.k.a Mr. Rapping Professor (Check his profile here) offered some of us a ride going back to the city since we cant hail a taxi or any mode of transportation that time. the Drive just breezed forth and seeing Mr. Matthew’s place is such a delight. It is really cozy, private and with a very “tropical”  feel. The night just passed by without a clue. and by waking up the next morning you will really feel the ambiance of his place ~ out and far for so many worldly noises and buzz. You can hear the birds chirping away and the soft breeze of the air just floating around the sphere of the surroundings.

My couch....

My couch….

He has a lot of cats too that he feeds for during  the day. That very day, Mr. Matthew and I recorded a rap for the Community and of course about the event we had. It was a first and it really gave me a new experience for that. Thanks a lot Mr. Rappin’ Prof! Hope to see you again whenever I visit Bali again.

405072_2783551662157_1045130563_n

27

One response to “My “Never Ending Asia” trip ( Denpasar Bali, Indonesia)

  1. Pingback: DESIGNER WHITE BLOUSE TOP SHIRT BALLOON SLEEVE – FITS (ONE SIZE) – L 1X 2X – L638 LOTUSTRADERS | WWW.MPROINFO.COM·

Leave a comment